Your New Year

Hi, all,

The year of our Lord, 2007, has now slipped into history and 2008 is barely a week old.  You probably forgot about that New Year’s resolution to become healthier as you munch on a box of cream cakes and drape your coat on the exerbike you got for Christmas.  That resolution to quit smoking may have slipped your mind when you lit your cigarette just now.  Even that resolution to revere your Creator and His/Her name may have fallen by the wayside as you gave an inappropriate salute to a driver who cut you off in morning traffic.

I’m not here to fuss at you — that’s my evil twin’s job.  (You have met that witch, right?)  What I’m here to do is let you know that we all slip up from time to time (as a matter of fact, I’ve been trying to lose the same 50 pounds I gained since I hit thirty, on top of the 50 pounds I was already overweight.  I’ll look like a supermodel one day. 😉 ).  Perfection is for mannequins and six-foot-tall, 19-year-old glamazons who weigh 75 pounds, so don’t worry if your resolutions don’t go pinpoint-perfect, so long as you do something every day to reach your goal.  As for myself, I’m reducing the amount of high-fructose corn syrup-containing products in my diet: God invented sugar, honey, and fruit to satisfy our need for sweet; what the hell do we need with high-fructose corn syrup (the most insidious of manmade inventions) to sweeten our beverages and other edibles?  The body can process sugar, honey, and natural fructose efficiently; not so much for high-fructose corn syrup, as any extra not used by the body is converted directly to fat (and there’s always extra, as so many modern foods contain it).

Keep me posted on your New Year’s resolutions and let me know how you’re progressing.

V.

One thought on “Your New Year

Leave a Reply

